The worry of parenthood…

And so it begins….the lifetime of worry. We had the meeting with the woman that will make us parents.  She’s perfect for us.  Our meeting went well, we talked, laughed, and anytime it began to get quiet, our social worker stepped in and saved the day.  To say we are in love would be an understatement.  This meeting made this all so very real.  It’s happening.

So last night, I laid awake.  How am I going to sleep when he’s here?  I can’t sleep when he sleeps because I need to watch him sleep and make sure he’s safe.  How often do I feed him?  How much do I feed him?  How many diapers should we have?  I don’t know the first thing about taking care of a newborn.  (Seriously, bring on the parenting advice!  Leave the judginess at home though.) Will he be happy? Happiness, that’s a big one.  I just want him to be safe and happy.

Adopting comes with a whole list of questions and worries, but so does pregnancy.  We want his mother to always be a part of our lives.  We hope that we will all be able to make that happen.  We hope that he understands that he is twice loved.

I can already tell that this is going to be a wild ride.  We may need a village, but that’s okay.  We have one!

Leave a Reply

