Three little words…..

There are lots of them, little three word phrases that mean everything. I love you. How are you? You look pretty. I missed you. My husband and I have 2 little phrases that mean more than I ever realized.

A year ago, my marriage was struggling. It wasn’t because we didn’t love each other or we were unfaithful. We were simply lost. I was self absorbed in my own self pity, self doubt, self hatred…the list goes on and on…me me me! My husband, a fixer, couldn’t “fix” me. Nothing he said or did made it any better. Instead, it probably irritated me. So we got comfortable doing this little dance of being as nice as possible and trudging through each day. Around Thanksgiving 2014, everything came to a screeching halt. We both cried “mercy” and decided that things needed to change. We needed to fix us.

Three words that we’ve always said is “I appreciate you” and “I intend to”.

Appreciation is so important. I appreciate that he goes to work every day for us. I appreciate when he empties the dishwasher. I appreciate when he stares at me creepily because he thinks I’m pretty. Often enough we don’t tell our loved ones that we appreciate them. It’s AMAZING how much telling someone that they are appreciated means to them. I feel appreciated most of the time. Vedran makes sure that my work doesn’t go unnoticed. Sometimes we make it a game to do a little project and see how long it takes someone to notice.

Intention, holy moly, the power of intention. These are some more words that we use often. “Have a good day!” “I intend to.” “Have fun!” “I intend to.” “Get a lot done.” “I intend to.” Intention and choice are so closely related. When you intend to have a good day, bad day, productive day, you are making a choice to do everything in your power to make it happen.

Live with intention and appreciation for all things, big and small.

Leave a Reply

