I’m a quitter….

It’s no secret to those close to me. I’m a quitter! I love to start new hobbies, projects, diets, causes, interests. I mean, really, I dive in head first and go full force until I’m bored or frustrated…then…I quit. It’s always been a little bit of a joke to my husband. He just goes along with my harebrained ideas, cheering me on from the sidelines. Sometimes he gives me shit when I quit, most of the time he doesn’t. 

Something has changed though. Quitting, anything, is no longer an option. Anyone who has adopted or is adopting knows that the paperwork is endless and frustrating. The profile alone is enough to make a grown man cry. There have been at least 100 times that I’ve wanted to scream, cry, throw in the towel but I haven’t. I’ve learned to step back, take a deep breath and keep moving forward. I have let this translate to other areas of my life as well. (Even IKEA furniture can’t stop me now!)

So, when our caseworker called today to reschedule, I really wanted to over exaggerate the situation (Oh my world is ending, why me, nothing ever goes my way!) but I didn’t. I gave myself 15 minutes to be disappointed, shed a few tears and then get over it. This was one of the small things. My hubby and I got dressed, had coffee, spoke with one of our adoption attorneys and went out for an excellent day. I think we needed a day to reconnect, to “quit” life for a day. 

Sometimes it’s okay to be a quitter. But follow through is oh so sweet! Now, I’m going to go sit in the garage and watch my hubby build a craft area for all of my projects. Many will start, most will be finished! Bahahahaha!

Leave a Reply

