Plans….

When my husband and I got married, we had a map of what the next 50 years would look like. We’d have 2, maybe 3, beautiful curly headed children. We’d make sure they were spoiled, but not too much. We’d travel the United States, making sure that they visited every national park before graduating high school. Fun, adventurous. We’d always be healthy and have money. What we didn’t expect was infertility, bills, and cancer.

Now, some people think that a child coming from divorced parents is doomed. I grew up with 2 sets of loving parents. At first thought, they haven’t gone through any struggles, their lives have been easy. Then I really thought about it. These 2 couples have been through lay offs, broken backs, a string of dead end jobs, court battles, health issues, and I’m sure many other things. And then my in-laws, they have been through a war that was meant to tear them apart. They moved thousands of miles to make a better life for their family. The one thing that I see though is that their love is constant. So, no, I didn’t have a shining example of what marriage was supposed to look like I grew up with TWO shining examples of what marriage looks like and my in-laws make three. Is it always a fairy tale? No. Are there moments when you go to bed mad? Yes. But the love never wavers, only grows.

So, when all this cancer crap came down, I gave my husband an out. He’s young, healthy, handsome. He deserves to be with someone that can give him that family. What I learned though is that he didn’t marry the “plan”. He married ME! So, here’s to the next 50 years. Hopefully it will include 1, maybe 2, beautiful adopted children. Maybe it will include travel, fun and adventure. One thing is for sure though, it WILL be full of love. I can’t ask for any more than that.

2 thoughts on “Plans….

  1. mel47834 says:

    So well said Jenni, you were meant to write this blog to help us all heal. And through your blogs we can all tell that you are healing. I appreciate you sharing with all of us. It helps us understand what is going on in that little head of yours. Love you!

Leave a Reply

