Dating….again!

When my husband and I were dating, we lived over an hour apart.  Our time together was confined to weekends and every once in awhile a week night dinner.  Those weekends sustained us through the week.  We’d talk on the phone about how much we enjoyed each other’s company, wish each other a good night’s rest and sleep peacefully, looking forward to the next weekend. I realized last night, that we have gone back to dating.

When we moved up here, my husband took a job working nights.  This meant we would see each other for a teeny period of time each night when he would wake up, eat dinner and leave for work.  Now, those of you who know my husband, know that he’s an absolute peach when he first wakes up. (insert sarcastic tone here)  AND I am like an excited puppy wanting to talk and ask questions and make plans.  This was a rough adjustment at first, I felt like he was always snapping at me and we never saw each other.  Now, I realize though, we’ve just gone back to dating.

This weekend, we went camping with my family.  We had a fantastic time despite the rain and the chill.  When we got home yesterday afternoon, Vedran unpacked the car, I began mowing the grass.  He took a nap while I took a shower and we both just relaxed.  As he left for work, he kissed me on the forehead and told me how much he enjoyed the weekend with me.  Later, I called him before his shift started to tell him good night, and we both reiterated what a great weekend it had been.  My heart was all a flutter and I couldn’t wait until our next weekend together.

I realized how difficult it was to get used to the new normal of him working nights, now we enjoy it.  We cherish every moment that we have with one another.  I think it has made us stronger and more appreciative of each other.

Leave a Reply

